Make your own free website on

3.jpg (14583 bytes)


Home   Download   Issues   Advocacy   Guestbook  About us  Join Us


(October 10, 2002)

On August 7, 2002, nineteen (19) people came together and launched the Pagbabago Movement as a cultural-social movement for the radical transformation of Philippine society.

The members of the Founding Node come from diverse backgrounds and have united on the basis of the Kartilya of the movement. They come from backgrounds in the economy (businessmen and women), politics (government leaders and technical people), and culture (artists, environmentalists, journalists, professors, NGO leaders, and other civil society leaders). While many are leaders in their respective institutions, they have joined Founding Node of the Pagbabago Movement in their individual capacity, giving them the necessary independence from the imperatives of their institutions.

The Kartilya clearly lays out the cultural-social nature of the movement and the approach of the new revolution. At the same time, the Kartilya recognizes that the massive task of renewing Philippine society will require the involvement of individuals, from all walks of life, not only from cultural-social but also from the political and economic domains of Philippine society. This diversity will enable the movement to transform many aspects of Philippine social life.

The founders of the movement wanted who they were to be secondary to what they stand for. They wanted other individuals to join not on the basis of personality but on the basis of their connection with the ideals, principles and intentions of the Pagbabago Movement as embodied in its Kartilya. However, many who do want to join are asking: "Who are standing behind the Pagbabago Movement?" They want to gauge the kind of beginning leadership that stands behind the Kartilya and the movement.

In response, therefore, to this request, the Pagbabago Movement is issuing this information sheet on the members of the Founding Node of the Pagbabago Movement.

Members of the Founding Node of the Pagbabago Movement

    Dina Abad, Director, Ateneo School of Government
    Dr. Neric Acosta, Congressman, 1st District, Bukidnon, Republic of the Philippines
    Ella Antonio, Homemaker and Mother of Two
    Trina Belamide, Songwriter and President, KATHA, (Organization of Filipino Composers)
    Marissa Bondoc, Advertising, Marketing, and Media Consultant
    Nina Bustamante, Technical Staff, Philippine Senate
    Carmelo Caluag, S.J., Vice-President, Ateneo de Manila University
    Dr. Martin Camara, Chiropractic physician, Managing Director, Intercare Healthcare Centers, and Concerned Citizen
    Rina Jimenez David, Columnist, Philippine Daily Inquirer
    Guido Delgado, CEO, GAAD Inc., a consultancy firm
    Jeremy Eliab, Director, Faculty Development and Scholarship Office, Professor Philosophy/Mass Communication Depts, Ateneo de Davao University
    Rollie Fabi, Director, Philippine Council of Young Political Leaders
    JP Fenix, Strategic Communications Counselor
    Jay Fonacier, founder, Odyssey Records
    Calvin Genotiva, Financial Consultant and President and CEO, Sundaland, Inc.
    Bart Guingona, Theater Director, President, Actor's Actor Inc.
   Dr. Cielito Habito, Professor of Economics and Director , Ateneo Center for Economic Research and Development, Ateneo de Manila University.
    Vincent Lazatin, Vice-President, Winvest
    Panjee Lopez, Lifestyle Columnist, Philippine Star and concerned citizen
    Alex Magno, columnist, Manila Standard
    Cynthia Mamon, President, Sun Microsystems (Philippines)
    Mardi Mapa-Suplido, Provincial Board Member - 3rd District of Negros Occidental and Human Rights Activist
    Alan T. Ortiz, Ph.D., Public Policy Consultant, Managing Director, CEOs, Inc.
    Jun Palafox, President and CEO, Palafox and Associates
    Francis Pangilinan, Senator, Republic of the Philippines
    Jim Paredes, Artist, Member of APO Hiking Society
    Charrie Perlas, Physician, Entrepreneur, Concerned Citizen
    Nicanor Perlas, President, Center for Alternative Development Initiatives and Co-founder, Global Network for Social Threefolding
    Vincent Perlas, Physician, Farmer, Micro-Finance Practitioner, President and CEO, Lifebank (Rural Bank of Maasin (Iloilo), Inc).
    Ramon Marcos Pernia, Jr., Coordinator, Mindanao Lobby
    Essa Remoquillo, Youth Affairs Liason, Philippine Senate
    Jesse Robredo, Mayor, Naga City
    Marian Pastor Roces, Critic (cultural theory), Independent Curator, and CEO, TAO, Inc.
    Dr. Chito Salazar, President, STI, Inc.
    Jose Ma. Lorenzo Tan, President, WWF Philippines
    Vivienne Tan, Founder and President, Thames Business School
    Bill Velasco, TV sports newscaster


Last updated January 07, 2003 05:27 PM
Copyright 2001 All rights reserved.